It costs almost $200,000 to submit a new TLD to ICANN.

And that's just to submit it. There's no guarantee it will be approved.

Did you know that aside from .kosher and the mostly-generic .holiday and .faith, EVERY religious TLD is Christian-related? Seriously, there's even .catholic in Chinese and Arabic.

List of religious TLDs

I'd love to have a URL ending in .witch or .magic. And imagine the outrage if .satan was available.

Other thoughts:

And if you don't have the disposable cash lying around to throw ALMOST $200,000 at ICANN (for the POSSIBILITY of them approving your TLD!) then good luck ever seeing it happen.

I think I just convinced myself that we need to seize the means of DNS propagation, but I know absolutely nothing about alternative roots.

Tagged:

Technology

Back to gemlog