Cursed take

Followed a link to a blog post that's like, okay, you do you and I'll do me, I don't care what other people do with their internet time and if some Gemini users ARE proselytizing, that's no good:

Why Gemini is not my favorite internet protocol, by Gustaf Erikson

(Seriously, don't be one of Those People. This method of winning people over to your Favorite Thing has been tried and tried again, from religion to TV shows to blogging platforms, and it only serves to drive people away.)

But THIS part? This part is truly and utterly cursed:

First, there’s no official client. The fact that it’s so easy to implement a client means there’s a Cambrian explosion going on, and the filtering die-back has not yet occurred.

Uh... wut? Why should a web protocol have an "official client"? Does HTTPS have an official client? (I mean, I know Google is trying, but...) Does FTP or email have an "official client"? I mean, I get why this thought might cross someone's mind; it crossed MINE when I was looking for a client that suited my needs. But surely if you think about it for, like, a minute...?

I don't know why this even bugs me enough to make a whole post about. But it does.

Tagged:

Gemini

Back to gemlog