Friday Morning Link Roundup: July 23, 2021

This is something I decided I wanted to do, as I tend to run across stuff and then either it winds up in my horde of bookmarks, never to be touched again, or I can never find it later when I want to. Here are some links I found in the last couple of weeks that I felt like sharing.

News

[HTTPS] EU withheld a study that shows piracy doesn't hurt sales

In 2013, the European Commission ordered a €360,000 ($430,000) study on how piracy affects sales of music, books, movies and games in the EU. However, it never ended up showing it to the public except for one cherry-picked section. That's possibly because the study concluded that there was no evidence that piracy affects copyrighted sales, and in the case of video games, might actually help them.

Let's all pretend to be shocked. (This article's actually from 2017, but still relevant to the current anti-piracy crusade.)

Craft

[Gemini] Remy Noulin's homepage > Cooking recipes

A treasure trove of recipes collected from various places around the web.

[Gemini] marginalia.nu > Writing for Reading

It's an increasingly established truth that our attention span is somehow being dwindled, and to combat this there seems to exist a sort of unfortunate arms race to draw the reader's attention to what is being written, accompanied with calls to write simpler texts with short sentences and catchphrases that can be absorbed even at the briefest of glances. Colors, too. And images, doesn't matter how irrelevant. They gotta be there or people won't look!

A log post that makes a really good point. My attention span went to shit over the last ten years, but has been steadily improving since I cut social media out of my life, started exploring Geminispace, and went back to reading physical paper books.

Fandom

[HTTPS] Animorphs art prints by artist David Mattingly

I don't have many fond memories of the late 1990s, but I DO fondly remember walking to the bookstore every month to get the latest Animorphs book -- when I wasn't pre-ordering them from those Scholastic Book Fair events. These prints are pretty good quality, too; I bought one of #19 and it looks great.

[HTTPS] Romas Kukalis' Animorphs cover prints

On that subject, a lot of people know about David Mattingly's shop, but not as many know that the Andalite/Hork-Bajir/Visser/Ellimist Chronicles cover artist Romas Kukalis ALSO has a print shop!

I was a big shot with the kids (a brief pleasure), when the Scholastic Book Fairs took place in my childrens’ elementary school. Daughter Alex told everyone “Those are my dad’s books”. She was insistent, so, confused, the school called to ask if they had somehow stocked books that belonged to us. We explained that I was the cover artist, not the owner! Still, many points for Dad with the librarians!

Tech

[Gemini] Antenna

I already talked about this in my last post, but putting it here too for easy access.

Tagged:

Links

Back to gemlog